Safe Stars

Event Objectives:

The Safe Stars initiative recognizes youth sports leagues throughout Tennessee for providing the highest level of safety for their young athletes. Safe Stars consists of 3 levels: gold, silver, and bronze, and involves implementation of policies around topics such as concussion education, weather safety and injury prevention.

Desired Outcomes:

Safe Stars’ goal is to provide resources and opportunities for every youth sports league to enhance their safety standards. The criteria for achieving recognition as a Safe Stars league has been developed by a committee of health professionals dedicated to reducing sports-related injuries among youth. 

Safe Stars Standards

To reach the initial level of recognition, Bronze Star standard, a league must adhere to the following safety standards:

  • Emergency Action Plan (EAP) / Team emergency contacts (specific plan and practiced annually)
  • Background checks completed on all coaches
  • Minimum of 2 coaches CPR/AED certified (one always present)
  • AED on site for all practices and games
  • All coaches trained in concussion and sudden cardiac arrest recognition/management
  • Severe weather policy (including heat and lightning)
  • Anaphylaxis and Allergy Emergency plan
Standards for Silver Star (Choose 2) and Gold Star (choose 4) Levels include:
  • Pre-participation Physical Examination (PPE) required
  • Risk and safety information/policies relayed to parents/guardians
  • All coaches complete additional health, safety and injury prevention training
  • All athletic equipment undergoes safety checks
  • Medical professional (ATC, first responder, etc.) on site for all games
  • Medical professional (ATC, first responder, etc.) on site for all practices
  • ALL coaches CPR/AED certified
  • On site tobacco policy / “Young Lungs at Play”
  • Promote positive culture and standard of expectations regarding behavior

Safe Stars Application

To become a Safe Star League, please apply at:

The application recommends that various documents supporting completion of criteria for Safe Stars be uploaded (i.e. CPR/AED certification, inclement weather policies, etc.), so be prepared before beginning the application. Uploading all documents will shorten your application review process.    

  • Review the criteria and resources page before applying to make sure your league is qualified
  • Pending application acceptance, your league will receive a certificate of recognition along with a digital copy of the Safe Star logo to display.
  • If you do not achieve a Safe Star level, you may reapply at any time.
  • Your Safe Star recognition will be in effect for 5 years, after which time you must re-apply.
  • You may apply for a higher level star at any time (i.e. your league can qualify for gold instead of silver).

For more information, visit the TN Department of Health here:

More Information

Team Captain Members